www.mydfz.com > Music of Tom Paxton > In The Orchard

In The Orchard

Sundown Records (It says "Cherry Lane Records" on the album cover.)
Live recording, released about 1988

Sundown Records is a British company so this album was probably never released in the U.S. All of the songs appear on other, more common, albums except for "Dear Diary". To the best of my knowledge, this song appears only on this one album at this time (May 2002) though perhaps it will be included on some future album.

Thank you to Geert Feenstra of Veksoe, Denmark for providing this information.

Thank you to Derek Herbert for the images of the album covers.

July 8, 2013 - I received the following email about this album and related matters:

Hi Valerie,

This album was originally released in the UK in 1984 by Cherry Lane Records PIPLP711 shortly after the release of The Marvelous Toy and Other Gallimaufry PIPLP701 on the same label.

It appears that Cherry Lane Records re-released it the following year with the same number. It was then re-released on Magnum Records SDLP062 in 1988. I have no idea about the Sundown release that you mention on your web page.

What is interesting is that at the same time as the release of the album the producer, John Velasco, also worked with Tom on a new version of Bad Old Days PIP719 from the Up and Up album which was released as a 7" single with the b side Early Morning (Monday), a song which appears nowhere else in Tom's discography.

Bad Old Days is copyrighted 1979 by Cherry Lane Records but produced 1985 by Towerbell Records and Early Morning (Monday) is copyrighted 1984 by Cherry Lane Records and produced 1985 by Towerbell Records.

Towerbell was a British record label that existed from 1981-86 and famously signed Nils Lofgren for four singles and one album. Cherry Lane Records seems to be a subsidiary of Towerbell which existed around the mid 80s.

Kind regards

Ian Guest

And news about this album keeps coming in. I received the following email Aug. 1, 2013:


I have the album, bought in Portugal and it is written on the back "Fabricado e distribuído em Portugal por Transmédia Lda", which means "Made and distributed in Portugal by Transmédia Lda".

Best regards,

Tiago Abreu.

Side 1:

  1. Bottle of Wine - (Click here for lyrics)
  2. Thank You Republic Airlines - (Click here for lyrics)
  3. Only A Game - (Click here for lyrics)
  4. Not Tonight Marie - (Click here for lyrics)
  5. Dear Diary - (Click here for lyrics)
  6. The Perfect Bomb - (Click here for lyrics)

Side 2:

  1. A Little Bitty Gun
  2. I Thought You Were An A-Rab - (Click here for lyrics)
  3. I'm Changing My Name To Chrysler - (Click here for lyrics)
  4. The Mail Will Go Through - (Click here for lyrics)
  5. I Don't Want A Bunny-Wunny - (Click here for lyrics)

Questions? Comments? Problem with this page?
You can send me email at: valerie@mydfz.com